<-- if you enjoyed this page, please consider clicking the +1 button. Thanks!

Counties in Montana that I have Visited

There are 56 counties in Montana
Big Sky Country

Also be sure to see the Travel/Geography Blog

Montana County Outline Map

Montana, courtesy of: Mob Rule

I have visited 4 Counties = 7.1% of Counties in Montana

Montana Yellowstone Border

45th Parallel in Yellowstone National Park

State Capitol in Helena
State Highpoint at Granite Peak

Counties in Montana

Below are the 56 counties in Montana. Although infrequent, counties sometimes do change so please let me know if any of this information is out of date and I will update it. Those counties that I have visited are in Red. If I have a photograph or other item associated with a county somewhere else on my website, there will also be a link.
  1. Beaverhead: Largest county in Montana (5,542 square miles).
  2. Big Horn: Where Custer Fell; Adjacent Counties, Same Name, Different States
  3. Blaine: Throw the Dart
  4. Broadwater
  5. Carbon: Boomerang
  6. Carter: Big Sky
  7. Cascade: The Roe River (world's shortest?)
  8. Chouteau
  9. Custer: Joe Montana; King of Portmanteau
  10. Daniels: Least Visited U.S. Counties; What Crosses an Airport Runway?
  11. Dawson: Room to Grow
  12. Deer Lodge
  13. Fallon
  14. Fergus
  15. Flathead: Hydrological Apex of North America; Sundog
  16. Gallatin
  17. Garfield: Last Presidential Counties
  18. Glacier: Hydrological Apex of North America
  19. Golden Valley
  20. Granite
  21. Hill
  22. Jefferson
  23. Judith Basin
  24. Lake
  25. Lewis and Clark: Rogers Pass
  26. Liberty: Infrequent Crossings
  27. Lincoln: Ted's Last Stand
  28. Madison: Earthquake Lake; Virginia Silver and Gold
  29. McCone: Going in Circles; Beery Places
  30. Meagher
  31. Mineral: King of Portmanteau; Digging for Minerals
  32. Missoula: Streets Named After...
  33. Musselshell
  34. Park: Adjacent Counties, Same Name, Different States
  35. Petroleum: Smallest county population in Montana (493 people in 2000 Census); Not Quite Obscure Enough.
  36. Phillips
  37. Pondera
  38. Powder River
  39. Powell
  40. Prairie
  41. Ravalli
  42. Richland
  43. Roosevelt: Last Presidential Counties
  44. Rosebud
  45. Sanders
  46. Sheridan: Extreme Differences of Extremes; County Divided
  47. Silver Bow: Smallest county in Montana (718 square miles); Ghost Signs
  48. Stillwater
  49. Sweet Grass
  50. Teton
  51. Toole: What Crosses an Airport Runway?
  52. Treasure
  53. Valley: No Names and Nameless; Remote Chinese Restaurants
  54. Wheatland
  55. Wibaux
  56. Yellowstone: Largest county population in Montana (129,352 people in 2000 Census).

Quick facts about Montana


(1) U.S. Census Bureau FedStats - MapStats: 2000 Land Area; United States.
(2) U.S. Census Bureau American FactFinder: 2005 Population Estimates; Table GCT-T1.